Name Recommendations

The Naming Commission concluded its recommendation gathering period at 5 p.m. EST, December 1, 2021.
We are grateful to the thousands of Americans who participated in this historic process. More than 34,000 submissions were received during this period and have been reviewed by the Commission.

The names of our military installations should appropriately reflect the courage, values and sacrifices of our diverse military men and women, with consideration given to the local or regional significance of names and their potential to inspire and motivate our service members.

Army Installations: Potential New Names
(as of March 17, 2022)

The Naming Commission has deliberated extensively over the thousands of possible new names suggested for the nine Army installations originally named in commemoration of the Confederate States of America. While a final selection for each post is still pending, the scope of consideration is now focused on these names:

John Aiso

Alexander Augusta

Vernon Baker

Van Barfoot

Powhatan Beaty

Roy Benavidez

Omar Bradley

Ruby Bradley

William Bryant

Jose Calugas

William Carney

Alwyn Cashe

Richard Cavazos

Cornelius Charlton

Charles Chibitty

Ernest Childers

Mary Clarke

Mitchell Red Cloud

Harold Cohen

Felix Conde-Falcón


Bruce Crandall & Ed Freeman

Benjamin Davis, Sr.

Ernest Dervishian

Desmond Doss

Charity Earley

Dwight Eisenhower

Marcario García

James Gavin

Eduardo Gomez

Gary Gordon & Randall Shughart

Arthur Gregg

Barney Hajiro

Kimberly Hampton

Anna Hays

Rodolfo Hernández

Robert Howard

Lawrence Joel

Henry Johnson

Hazel Johnson-Brown

Charles Kelly

Mildred Kelly

Charles Kettles

Milton Lee

José López

John Magrath

George Marshall

Frank Merrill

Jimmie Monteith, Jr.

Hal & Julia Moore

Sadao Munemori

Audie Murphy

Michael Novosel, Sr.

Elsie Ott

John Page

Emmett Paige, Jr.

Frank Peregory

Emily Perez

Pascal Poolaw

Colin Powell

Ralph Puckett

Matthew Ridgway

Ruben Rivers

Roscoe Robinson, Jr.

Tibor "Ted" Rubin

James Rudder

Alejandro Ruiz

Benjamin Salomon

Ruppert Sargent

Paul Smith

Donn Starry

Freddie Stowers

Jon Swanson

Central Texas

Charles Thomas

Hugh Thompson, Jr.

Harriet Tubman

Humberto Versace

John Vessey, Jr.

Francis Wai

Mary Walker

George Watson

Homer Wise

Rodney Yano

Alvin York

Charles Young

Rodger Young

Following upcoming engagements with installation leaders, personnel and their counterparts in local communities to discuss the names, the Commission will select the final names for recommendation in the naming plan due to Congress by Oct. 1, 2022.

View our Frequently Asked Questions for more information.